top of page
  • theillustratedplanner

Escher Exhibition at Industry City


Today was the first of the museum visits I planned to make during my winter break. I recently heard about this exhibition and it quickly became my number one place to visit.


This timeline of Escher’s life caught my eye. The line “can hardly be described as a good student” speaks volumes about children. So many children appear to struggle in academic subject matters but thrive in artistic settings!




These works were just a few of my favorites, but truly, I could have posted everything. There are times I find myself rushing through exhibits. However each one of his works of art is so intricate; it’s hard not to find yourself lost in the lines.



There are also interactive portions of the exhibition that let you “experience” the art. The experiences felt well planned and fun to experiment with.


I was lucky enough to have tourist help me out with this one!


I decided to stop and sketch at the sphere wall so I could make my own Escher inspired art. I unfortunately chose to kneel, and ended up staying in this position for a solid...thirty minutes. Once I finally stood up I had to stay in one spot because my leg had fallen asleep. it was probably the worst limb falling asleep incident I’ve ever had! (Note to self: choose a better pose next time for a self portrait)


I highly recommend if you’re in the area to check out this great exhibit!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page